“Living” life…

I am currently on holidays in Canada for a few weeks, allowing me to reflect on the new life I am building in India. India can be quite an overwhelming place to live and work sometimes, but this quote inspires me to tackle each challenge head on and throw myself into life there.

To me it represents exactly what life in India is like – you need to release yourself to the chaos:

“I would rather be ashes than dust. I would rather that my spark should burn out in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry rot. I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet. The proper function of man is to live, not to exist. I shall not waste my days in trying to prolong them. I shall use my time.”

– Jack London

What meaning do you take from it?

4 thoughts on ““Living” life…

    • India is a wonderful place, isn’t it! I’m really enjoying having the chance to explore it more, now that I’m living there. I’m hoping to do a yoga course as well while I’m here. I love your blog – you seem to be having a great time exploring Spain. How are you finding it learning spanish? Thanks for stopping by!

      • Little by little I’m getting there with my Spanish Jenny. When it’s just my husband and me at our casa I don’t make much progress because he speaks English to me. At these times I make a point of listening to some Spanish podcasts and these work really well for me . . . along with Google translate. My husband has a number of relatives close to where we are staying and none of them speak English so it’s pretty full on then. Sometimes I think I’ll never get there but then I have to remember the things I found difficult a week ago (like asking for something at a shop) are not difficult this week. It’s only been 3-4 weeks here is Sevilla provence so it’s early days.

      • I am having a somewhat similar experience. My boyfriend is french Canadian and we are currently visiting his family in Quebec, Canada for 1.5 months. They aren’t all comfortable speaking English, so it can be intense when they’re all speaking french. It is definitely the best way to learn though, to be immersed in it. I’m trying to watch french tv and do notice that I am understanding more and more. Google translate is definitely a woman’s best friend though! Good luck with it all!

What do you think?

